Lost Puppy

17 Feb

Hi friends!!!

Oh wow. The thing with puppies is they are so darn cute. Well at least most of the time. They have these big eyes that have the ability to melt your heart. They are always begging for attention and they are extremely needy of your time. If they are not given proper love and attention, they lash out. They may pee on your favorite pair of Newtons (that has never happened) or they may develop a unique taste for baseboards.

Sometimes these puppies are people. Granted I would abstain from those who freely chose to pee on my Newtons or have an appetite for baseboards, but sometimes they show up at your doorstep and you’re left to counsel. What I am saying is some people lash out when their opinions are uninvited. Some people are like lost puppies because they are looking for a cage to rattle.

I have had the fine encounter of meeting a lost puppy recently. I checked my Facebook account to notice I had a few messages pending in the ‘other’ inbox. I read them out.

I was flattered that someone I don’t know reads my blog but I was momentarily put off by his raucous comment, or should I say bark?

It reads as follows:

I read your Blog. You write well albeit a remarkable number of I’s which gives hints of being a kind of loving Narcissist… -bad puppy

The ellipsis … ending the note staring at me, trying to razz me.

Dot. Dot. Dot.

I thought to myself…

It took me a few moments to realize that this lost, bad puppy is half blind by the potent obvious…this blog is about my Running [Affair] and My Life Between the Miles. I am the main character. Who else? Of course there will be the use of I!

Albeit his comment struck me, I’m pleased he reads my blog or at least read one of my posts. His bark is an attention seeking behavior similar to that of a lost, bad puppy. The common reasons for barking are due to lack of physical activity, boredom, and/or nervousness.

This puppy is bored!

My apologies that my physical activity makes you feel inferior. l recognize your behavior as a plea for attention and some love. Perhaps a little training and some obedience will serve you well. Go take a walk around the block, smell the fresh-cut grass, and mark your territory without engaging in poor behavior. In my experience we can correct bad behavior by replacing the action of reviling others with praise. If you find that these techniques don’t work, I recommend you contact a professional dog trainer…they work wonders on lost puppies and bad puppies alike, given age and maturity, and provide tons of cages to rattle until pure exhaustion. What are you waiting for? Woof woof!

Thanks for stopping by!

By the way, everyone is entitled to their own opinion. What you see from me is only the half of it! Next time, if you have the cajones, I implore you to bark on this forum, not a private Facebook message…just saying! Unless of course you’ve been neutered…makes sense. 😉

It’s time for a run!

Happy running! XO

Valgal

IMG_3561

3 Responses to “Lost Puppy”

  1. Morgan James February 18, 2015 at 2:28 pm #

    I truly appreciate your blog.

    I “ran” across you via Instagram one day and then clicked on the blog link on your IG account and was hooked. Anyone who has a passion for running, and is a lover of Newtons, and boxers, is awesome in my book!
    It’s YOUR blog. You should be talking about YOU (i.e. “I”).

    Remember, insecure people break others down, to build themselves up.

    Keep on Writing!!!!

    Morgan Wulf James

    • valerietoth February 18, 2015 at 2:37 pm #

      Morgan!!!! Ahhh you have just made my day! I appreciate you! Yes, I! I appreciate you and your kind words!

      Thank you for building me up and thank you for reading!

      It’s funny because I write and often don’t receive public comments. That’s okay. I’ll often get private messages thanking me for being honest and real, and that inspires me to keep writing! I don’t know if I motivate others or make people smile but I try. I try! Emphasis on I! Sometimes at my own expense.

      Anyway, Morgan, THANK YOU! Thank you for reading my blog and taking a minute to write a friendly comment. I’m honored that you’re a frequent visitor and share my adoration for Newtons, boxers and running. You rock!

      We need to continue to build people up because there is too much shaming these days. Thanks for reminding me that how one person sees me is not a reflection of who I am, but who they are.

      Have a happy Wednesday!

      XO

      Valerie

  2. FLRunnerBoy February 18, 2015 at 4:30 pm #

    Ohhhhh nice post! I love Val though you did have me on the title until I started reading I thought you actually lost a puppy haha lol. Excellent on words as you always do! Some people can be so shallow. But on the positive you must be doing right and doing things well. Otherwise no one would been to make such comment or the must be in need of “dog training” lol. xoxo )

Leave a Reply

