Nothing better than a delicious soup to warm a chilly day!!! BLACK BEAN + BUTTERNUT SOUP

8 Jan

Hello friends!!!

It’s chilly here in the District! Wowwweee! It was 23 earlier which isn’t terribly bad, but the wind factor….oh that wind factor made sure it felt in the single digits. Brrrr!

Reflecting upon the past year–yeah, I’m still reflecting, not “resoluting”, I giggle over my fear of spending money on lunch that I often NEVER went out to lunch, because, you know, DC is expensive…Riiiiiiiggggght???  Let me clarify, I participated in the walking to lunch and I watched my colleagues/friends eat a $12+ meal. I walked to trendy restaurants and sipped on their complimentary water with lemon as I dined with my paper bag lunch. I did this time and again at the best bibimbap spot ever, and at the coolest grilled cheese sit-down restaurant known as GCDC, to name a few. I dined out but never ate out. I’m a foodie. What gives? Sure I wanted to save a buck, but food is art, and I like to acquire I mean consume art! It’s well worth the price and I’m a collector. Right!!!!

I finally decided to eat out at least once a week. Sometimes it’s a $5 vegetarian or pescetarian friendly sandwich and other times my entrée of choice is barely shy of a $20 price tag. I almost always buy a $2.75 rice krispie treat at Devon and Blakely on the days I eat out. I go out of my way for this. I don’t care. I have to. I’m an addict.

***If I eat the rice krispie treat, no matter how I feel, I make sure I run, and I run a little extra to burn it off…I do the same thing with York Peppermint Patties…I frequent YPPA often *you know, York Peppermint Patty Anonymous? Oh it’s bad. I keep them in the freezer and when I want one, I nibble on it. It’s like a peppermint fluff of yumminess on my tongue that slowly melts.***

But back to lunch. There’s this one spot I have dined at a handful of times. I always love me their sandwiches and salads. Oh they pair so well together! Mmmm! The soups of the day were always appetizing flavors but who wants hot soup on a hot day? My logic could be deranged because I love iced Americanos always, including cold days, cold days like today. But hot soup on a hot day? No freaking thank you!!! Anyway, it was finally cold enough to order soup here. The day we met I paid $5. A cheap date! Holy guacamole, new addiction (and it’s cheap!!!) ßI love exclamations!

I ordered the vegetarian friendly soup, the Black Bean & Butternut soup. I couldn’t get enough. I was captivated by its flavor and flare. I savored every single bite. When it came to my last bite, I was seriously depressed. I was Doug Heffernan on King of Queens when he serves himself up his last spoonful of pudding. “I get so sad when my foods coming to an end…when you start seeing the bottom of the [bowl] you know it’s almost over…” Oh the travesty!!!
The next day of work was a Monday. I woke up stoked to go back and get more soup! It was a chilly day and soup was a must! I coerced my team to join me (like it was a big deal! Hehe) and we jetted out. I went to order and my vegetarian friendly soup of the day was split pea soup. Whaaaat! No. NO!!!! I tasted it. It was good. Not great like the Black Bean & Butternut soup. I ordered it.

I needed my fix. The next day I called the restaurant to inquire about the soup of the day. I crossed that line. Yea, that line. I’m a soup stalker. Apparently Black Bean Butternut soup and I can only date on Fridays. Seriously. What an effed up relationship…but the Friday slot…hells to the yea! That means something! Friday is sought after real estate-that’s hot! Ha!

Needless to say, I have a tentative date every Friday, so long as the weather permits! Damn these conditions.

But today, today is Wednesday. I’m given the shaft on Wednesdays. But it was particularly cold. I wanted my Black Bean & Butternut soup but was afraid to come across needy if I asked for a secret engagement. I decided to channel my inner Betty Crocker and make it myself. That’s right, ho-freaking-me, MADE..I mean, homemade…

Nothing better than a delicious soup to warm a chilly day!!!

BLACK_BEAN_SOUP_02 A

Here’s the recipe I followed from Sprouted Kitchen… http://www.sproutedkitchen.com/home/2012/1/25/black-bean-butternut-soup.html

Recipe: BLACK BEAN + BUTTERNUT SOUP // Serves 4-6 Inspired by Coconut and Quinoa Some of my measurements are pretty vague, but in a stew-like soup, perfection is not necessary. Taste as you go, add more spice if necessary but beware that both chipotle and cayenne are SPICY, so start small. You can cook your beans from scratch or used canned for the sake of time. 1 Tbsp. coconut or extra virgin olive oil 1 medium yellow onion, chopped 3 cloves garlic, chopped 1/2 a small head of cabbage, chopped (heaping 2 cups) 3 cups cubed butternut squash (sweet potato would be good too) 3 cups low sodium vegetable broth 1 tsp. cumin 1 tsp. cocoa powder pinch of chipotle powder or cayenne pepper 2 cups cooked, black beans (about one can, rinsed and drained) salt to taste avocado, for garnish cilantro, for garnish // tortilla crispies // 3 corn tortillas scant 1 tsp. extra virgin olive oil 1/2 tsp. sea salt

Directions: In a heavy bottomed pot, warm the coconut oil over medium heat. Add the chopped onion and saute until just beginning to brown, about 6-8 minutes. Add the garlic, cabbage, squash and broth. Turn the heat down to a gentle simmer, cover the pot and cook for about 15-20 minutes for the vegetables to cook. Add the spices and the beans and stir. Let everything continue to cook another ten minutes for the flavors to blend. Salt to taste For the tortilla crispies, preheat the oven to 375′. Stack them and slice into thin matchsticks. Spread on a baking sheet, dirzzle with the oil, sprinkle the salt and toss gently to coat. Spread them in a single layer on the baking sheet and bake for about 10-15 minutes until they are light brown and crispy, giving the pan a shake halfway through. Garnish each both with some diced avocado, a handful of chopped cilantro and some of the tortilla crispies! A sprinkle of goat cheese would be quite nice as well.

BLACK_BEAN_SOUP_03 gFinal//flipagram.com/f/Opqzskz2tH/embed

Enjoy my friends!!!

Happy running! J

Valgal aka Valarina

3 Responses to “Nothing better than a delicious soup to warm a chilly day!!! BLACK BEAN + BUTTERNUT SOUP”

  1. FLRunnerBoy January 8, 2015 at 12:19 pm #

    That looks amazing and just right for the frigid weather you are having right now. Oh how I remember the days of living on the DC area 🙂 and I didn’t know that there was a help group peppermint patties eh’ haha lol 😉 maybe just maybe there’s a help group out there for peanut butter cups too 🙂

    • valerietoth January 8, 2015 at 12:58 pm #

      It was soooo good! Next time I will use more vegetable broth to make it more soupy. I take it you’re in Florida given your blog name-I love it there! Coming from Arizona, DC is a fabulous change of pace, not to mention enjoying all four seasons. How long were you in the DC area? The YPPA support group gladly accepts peanut butter addicts as well! I love chocolate and peanut butter! Oh there is so much to add to that list of tempting foods!

      • FLRunnerBoy January 8, 2015 at 2:10 pm #

        I was born and raised in Maryland. All of my family is still there and I soooooo miss the seasons and pretty fall leaves and call me crazy but the cold too haha lol 😛 and I’m glad that the YPPA accepts peanut butter addicts too 😉 lol

Leave a Reply

