Goodbye, Garmin Forerunner 620

3 Aug

Dear Garmin,

I loved your Garmin Forerunner 305. It was a brick, but it worked. It worked FLAWLESSY, each time!!!

I loved your Garmin Forerunner 10. It was simplistic. It always worked. But I wanted more.

And wanting more is never a good thing. My gluttonous behavior led me to accessorizing my wrist with the beautiful white and orange Garmin Forerunner 620 with the heart rate monitor and footpod. OoooOooo the sparkle in my eyes…I was so happy…

It was short-lived.

Beautiful would be the only redeeming quality of this watch.

I have now owned three. Three Garmin Forerunner 620s because the first one, the second one and now the third one didn’t work properly, EVER.

To answer your questions: Yes I updated them, weekly at the least. Yes I read the user’s manual. Yes. Yes. Yes. 

It.

Does.

Not.

Work.

When I would do my treadmill workouts the watch wouldn’t start. The display screen would glare at me, “Can’t acquire GPS”. Hmmm. I disabled it…so acquiring a GPS signal would not be necessary. The watch worked fine yesterday when I did 400m repeats. WHAT GIVES!!!

When I ran outside the pace fluctuated all over the place from a 6 minute to a 12 minute mile. Really? Seriously. Heightened annoyance each time this happened…and runs are supposed to alleviate said annoyance… I would always think, this can’t be. I would be doing a solid 7:30 pace but heaven forbid there’s a lot of foliage, the watch would mock me by flashing a 12 minute pace. Really? COME ON!!!

I couldn’t pair my phone. The watch would display the passkey code 5102. The bluetooth on my iPhone 5s is enabled. A series of questions later from my iPhone and I thought we were getting somewhere…until I would receive a notification on my phone exclaiming “Sync Failed”, EACH TIME.

What’s new.

What’s.

Friggin.

New!!!

Why advertise WiFi and Bluetooth technology if it doesn’t work?

The whole dang Garmin 620 is a royal failure.

Royal.

Failure.

It’s time to go back to basics. Back to the Garmin Forerunner 10 and it’s simplistic technology and simplistic aesthetic appeal.

Here’s to hoping Garmin’s exceptional customer service will reimburse me for the watch and it’s useless accessories. I wish I could charge them for the nuisance its caused me. I mean geez, the money spent on this ridiculous piece of equipment is equivalent to two Michael Kors bags or 4.5 pairs of Newton shoes. Remember my post, Michael Kors versus Garmin? I made a mistake, a royal mistake. MK wouldn’t malfunction on me…it would compliment me, my fabulous shoes and would make my ensemble flawless… But the false promises of the Garmin Forerunner 620 led me astray. I should have known a watch as complex as the Forerunner 620 and being a first of its generation would have numerous FLAWS. How is it possible out of the entire population of Garmin Forerunner 620s I would be the disappointed owner of three that malfunction as often as I lace up? Talk about luck!

Lesson learned.

Simplicity is key. Or maybe a TomTom is…?

Happy Running!

Thanks for stopping by.

XO

Valgal

2 Responses to “Goodbye, Garmin Forerunner 620”

  1. matt burns August 6, 2014 at 2:28 pm #

    I’m also experiencing poor GPS accuracy. My old faithful 205 (basically the same as your 305) was much more accurate.

    As for the bluetooth thing, mine pairs fine but you have to pair it using the garmin connect app (you can’t just pair it from the phone OS like you would pair a bluetooth speaker for example).

    • valerietoth August 6, 2014 at 10:06 pm #

      Matt,

      Thank you for taking the time to write and offer me a suggestion! 🙂

      Isn’t it ridiculous? I contacted Garmin. They told me they don’t get many complaints like mine. I visited Amazon’s reviews of the 620 and there are several complaints similar to mine. My first one never acquired a satellite. My second one would tell me it was 100% charged but it wasn’t. It didn’t hold a charge and died the second it turned on. Now my third one will say it’s still charging when it’s off the charger, it will freeze, fluctuate pace with a large variance and it won’t pair with the iPhone using the Garmin connect app like you mentioned.

      Garmin gave me some difficulty but after discussing with them this nuisance, they’re working with me. We are exchanging my 620 for the 220. The 220, from my research and reviews from my friends, have minimal glitches!

      Here’s to hoping!

Leave a Reply

