Du a Duathlon?

25 Jul

Hello friends!!!

Happy Friday! We made it!!! 🙂

Here’s a quick update about me and my life between the miles…

I just wrapped up my 4th class in my pursuit of my MPA. I’ve got 6 classes left to go! This feels good. Very good. But not as good as the feeling I have after a painstakingly long and exhausting run and/or bike ride. That’s right, that kind of pain in my legs and the build up of lactic acid hurts so good! Needless to say, my focus on academia this week interrupted my BQ training efforts. Interruption of my training regime never feels good…

Let me share with you something that I think will make me feel good!

I stumbled upon a sprint duathlon competition next Sunday, August 3rd and I am seduced by the idea of competing in it. I’m hesitant to register though. I keep hovering the mouse over the register here button.

You see, I have not done a run/bike/run before. I have, however, run a marathon (currently training for my next one), several half marathons (racing and training), 17ks, 12ks etc. I have also trained with 20, 30 and 40 mile bike rides with a relatively decent average for speed considering my novice status. So why couldn’t I do a duathlon that incorporates both running and riding? This duathlon is comprised of a 2 mile run, a 13 mile bike ride, followed by another 2 mile run. I think I can handle it. I think. That’s why I’m provoked and almost obsessing over this.

I have covered these distances before. I know I have the stamina for this kind of endurance but the idea of a duathlon is daunting. This is outside my normal. It’s unfamiliar. It’s unchartered waters (I know this is not a Tri) and it drowns me with instant panic and anxiety for fear of failure.

Do I have the grit? Should I du this Duathlon?

I’m thinking I need a thrill. I’m thinking I need a new kind of race to spice up my training!

I’m thinking I’ll click, register here. I’m thinking yes!

So there you have it. That’s what’s new in my life between the miles-I’ll be covering the miles in a whole new forum next week!

Wohoo!!!

Happy weekend! Happy running! Happy riding!

Thanks for stopping by!

XO

Valgal

2 Responses to “Du a Duathlon?”

  1. JA July 27, 2014 at 2:42 am #

    Good job! What is a MPA? masters of ?

    • valerietoth July 27, 2014 at 11:29 am #

      JA,

      Thanks for reading my blog! It’s very appreciated! An MPA is a masters in public administration. I’m enjoying the coursework although it will puts a wrench in my balance of other obligations sometimes….

Leave a Reply

