40 Miles Strong!

19 Jul

Hello friends!

Whoa weeeee! I’m beginning to feel the fatigue from my day.

I woke up bright and early to make the hubs a delicious breakfast so he could go straight to work and not hassle with it. You see, this weekend he’s working ungodly hours. He wrapped up last night at midnight and is planning on doing the same the thing today.

This occasion has called for me to polish up on my domesticated skills. I love playing into this role. I love the traditional role of a housewife/woman—I’m not saying I buy in to its entire orientation. I’m not a “typical” housewife, or even a housewife at that. I’m a wife with several hats. After all, the traditional role and expectations of a wife are too antiquated for my taste. I do more than cook, clean, and bear children (I haven’t quite crossed this one off the list yet). My point is, there exists a dichotomy between old school traditional roles and new school traditional roles. I like it because each day brings on a new set of circumstances and I get to choose which role I assume in an effort to be a good wife and keep a good home. I’m not good at it all the time. I won’t lie. But I try.

As far as today goes, I have assumed both roles at different times. I have waited on my husband as much as I can because the poor man can’t break away from the computer. And that’s okay. I’m here to support him.

Just like I want to support him, he wants to support me. And support me he did. He encouraged me to get out of the house and enjoy my long training run or bike ride. I hesitated because I didn’t want to be selfish and leave him home while I was out exploring the paths and getting my sweat on. I felt guilty because I knew he wished he could join me and I also felt guilty because I had already accepted the old school traditional role of a woman but I was eagerly trying to cash-in for the alternative! He was asking me to shift gears and focus on me. I wanted to. But I felt guilty because I easily obliged. There’s the proof that I’m not so good at the traditional role…

I shifted the gears back on me.

I pumped air in my tires and off I went! I covered 40 miles on my bike!!! It was the longest ride I’ve had to date of consecutive miles. I was so inspired and felt immense happiness and confidence that I was out there alone. The breeze from my speed felt cold against my sweat. The tree canopy over one of the trails was brilliant in colors of green. The sun was hidden behind the overcast of the clouds and what was left of the light was dimmed by the foliage. I maintained a very comfortable temperature allowing for me to press harder and faster. I was able to maintain a faster speed than normal until I hit a 10 mile slight incline. My speed began to slow but each time I noticed I was fading, I tried to press harder. I began to wonder how different my performance might be when I ride with my clips. I’m confident that they will help me with my speed and endurance to cover more distance. Or maybe I’m overconfident and there won’t be any difference at all! I’m a novice. I don’t know anything about this sport yet! Being new to this bicycling thing (a new addiction) I have to remind myself that it’s okay to be not-so-good. Not-so-good, oh my gosh the idea of being no-so-good causes me distress! I have great expectations and I want to meet and exceed them—now! I’m cognizant that the only way I can be better is if I continue to practice, press forward, and challenge myself—just like I do with running.

I finished my laborious 40 mile ride in 2 hours 47 minutes and 56 seconds (2:47:56). My average speed was 14.3 mph—that dang incline!!! (I’m full of excuses!) I just need to get stronger! My maximum speed was 21.3 mph. Not too shabby!

Here’s to hoping that I can continue to get stronger and faster. Now that I’m mixing running with cycling I can’t wait to see how my performance for both sports improves. J I’m thinking a duathlon is in my future, that and a tri, either a sprint or Olympic! I have to hit the water soon if that’s going to happen. That’s a whole new saga of embarrassing! But that’s okay, I like laughing at myself and welcome you to join me!

As for right now, I’m shifting gears again so that I can go back to being a good housewife. It’s time to prepare dinner.

An article posted from the 1950s warns me that if don’t assume this role, and if I don’t cook a good dinner, my husband will leave me. No kidding…read for yourself. I hope it’s a joke.

“Woman, you have no idea how lucky you are to have landed a man. But as the literature of the mid-century’s greatest matrimonial minds tells us, he’s one wrinkled shirt away from leaving you. Housekeeping accomplishments and cooking ability are, of course, positive essentials in any true home, and every wife should take a reasonable pride in her skill. Happiness does not flourish in an atmosphere of dyspepsia. Bad cooking is responsible for dyspepsia, dyspepsia is responsible for grouchiness and irritability, grouchiness and irritability lead to quarrels and squabbles. And bad cooking, which is the usual thing in the average American home, has been responsible as much as any other factor for driving the husband to the saloon, and to other places. And when she does cook, she should cook, and not be, as somebody said, a mere can opener.”

http://mentalfloss.com/article/52108/7-tips-keeping-your-man-1950s

I’m so lucky to have landed a man! Yes! My life is complete with full satisfaction! OooooKkkkkAaaaaaYyyy…

I think it’s safe to speculate working 20 straight hours contributes to grouchiness and irritability. No? I hope my husband doesn’t mind me cracking open a can of spaghetti-os for his dinner. j/k

Happy Saturday!

Thanks for stopping by and reading!

Happy running and happy riding!

Valgal

XO

20140719-194247-70967996.jpg

20140719-194248-70968390.jpg

Leave a Reply

