Image

My First Marathon is Set & It’s A Race Against Cancer

27 Nov

My First Marathon is Set & It's A Race Against Cancer

I am privileged to have my health. I am privileged to run. I am privileged to feel the ache in my legs and the burn in my lungs; therefore, I will run my first marathon on March 15, 2014 as a member of The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society’s (LLS) Team In Training to help support the mission to help find cures and more effective treatments for blood cancers.

I run because I can. I know I will get tired while I race the 26.2 mile course but I will hold my head up high and remember the mission. I will remember those who can’t run. I will remember what they would give to have the simple gift of running that I take for granted. And I will run harder for them.

Cancer Sucks.

You can change the world today.

Please make a donation in support of my efforts with Team In Training and help advance the research for cures.

http://pages.teamintraining.org/nca/rnrusa14/valerietoth

Thank you in advance for your generosity.

XO

Valerie
Runner Girl

3 Responses to “My First Marathon is Set & It’s A Race Against Cancer”

  1. luau November 27, 2013 at 11:59 pm #

    A great cause!!! I envy your journey toward your first marathon…there is nothing like crossing 26.2 for the first time!

    • valerietoth November 28, 2013 at 12:32 am #

      Thank you so much for you kind comments! I am eager to do this! Being so new to the city as well, I figured Team In Training would host the perfect backdrop for me to meet others with similar interests. Although I am a solo runner I believe it’s time I break out of my shell and “meet” others as we raise awareness and money for such an incredible cause! *Loving the run!

  2. slowrunnersexcursion December 1, 2013 at 5:44 pm #

    Good luck to you and congrats on joining such a team and cause! Looking forward to reading about your endeavors. I remember my first marathon—I miss those days of just getting out there and enjoying the run and not looking at a watch or trying to hit times. 🙂 Remember the cause as you train! Good luck and Happy Training!
    ~Joshua

Leave a Reply

