Nectarine Prosciutto Salad

30 May

ImageHello friends! It’s been a while…I’ve been nothing but busy trying to keep up with family (my amazing cousin, 10 years my junior, just graduated high school and he graduated in the top 5%!!! How great is that?), keeping up with friends and trying to coordinate a wedding which is speedily approaching! You would think I’d be running more to keep my nerves at bay and to maintain my figure…I’m trying! I mean, I have been running as much as one possibly can with my agenda while adding a bit of room for spontaneity for other things in life to happen, like sleeping in past 5am, a whimsical date night, a road trip…etc But last week my schedule minified my mileage log by events that were, well, planned, because they didn’t fit anywhere else in my calendar…So here I am, back to running, and what sweet victory it is! I feel the prettiest when I sweat and yesterday’s sweat session made me feel anew. After an eight mile run I headed to my neighborhood Sprouts Farmers Market inspired to make a healthy summer salad. Nothing like rewarding yourself with something clean, green and remarkably appetizing you would think you were being bad.

So I perused the aisles and picked up the most delicious looking nectarines, peaches and apricots…Found my way to the kale, arugula and spinach…I decided it’s time to put something together, and here it is.

Meet my Nectarine Prosciutto Salad.

Ingredients:

2 nectarines sliced.

Paper thin slices of prosciutto (I used about 5 slices)

5 cups of arugula and spinach

One quarter Haas avocado cut up

4 tablespoons of shaved almonds

2 tablespoons crushed pistachios

1/2 cup of parmesan reggiano shaved (used vegetable peeler to shave)

Dressing:

2 or 3 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon of lemon juice

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

1 teaspoon local honey

Mix all the dressing ingredients together and pour over salad. Mix well.

Add sea salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy!

 

XO

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

